Department of Archaeology and Museums

In Andhra, Archaeological functions were looked in the Madras presidency as per 1904 Act. After the formation of the State of A.P in 1956, the former Hyderabad, Department of Archaeology was merged and re-designated as the Department of Archaeology, which has spread its activities over entire Andhra Pradesh. As a result of the formation of A.P State the scope of the Department of Archaeology and Museums has been expanded and it became as Department of Archaeology & Museums in the year 1960.

The main function of the Archaeology & Museums Department is to protect and preserve the Archaeological wealth and cultural heritage by the scientific and systematized methodology.

After bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh in June 2014 the residual department has 6 subordinate offices and 13 museums under its control. The main activities of the Department, including conducting surveys and explorations, excavations, preservation of historical monuments and sites, acquisition of Treasure Troves, sculpture conservation of protected monuments, epigraphically survey, village wise epigraphical survey shifting of sculptures and epigraphically pillars/ slabs to the nearest museums and also preparation of excavation reports, directory of monuments of A.P for each district and Documentation of monuments and bring out the departmental publication on the research work carried out by the department and also maintenance of the Museums all over the State.

The Department is making efforts to protect Archaeology and Architectural significance under A.P. Ancient & Historical Monuments & Archaeological Sites & Remains Act (A.P. Act VII of 1960) for the posterity. Conservation works are under taken in a phased manner. Previously, the Department was implementing a centrally sponsored Non-Plan scheme i.e, registration of antiquities under the Antiquities & Art Treasures Act of 1972 and assist in AMSAR act 2010 to the Archaeological Survey of India.