Sri. N. Chandrababu Naidu, Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh

Smt. Bhuma Akhila Priya , Minister of Tourism


Sri. Mukesh Kumar Meena, I.A.S, Secretary to Government, Youth Advancement Tourism and Culture




Explorations & Excavations



Admin Setup

Conservation & Preservation

Chemical Conservation and Laboratary CCL





Photo Gallery


Man Script





Conservation & Preservation, Restoring of Monuments and Up gradation of Museums in the State of Andhra Pradesh (R)

The Department of Archaeology & Museums is an academic and research oriented institution established in 1914 with a view to conduct survey for identification of ancient human habitation sites and historical monuments and their protection, conservation / restoration, preservation for posterity. After bifurcation of the Andhra Pradesh into two States, under the Government of Andhra Pradesh (R) there are 277 protected monuments and sites and 13 museums in various districts.

The Andhra Pradesh (R) sanctioned an amount of Rs. 54.28 Crores by the Ministry of Culture, Government of India under 13th Finance Commission Grants (2011-2015) as part of the scheme of “Heritage Conservation of Protected Monuments / Sites and Up-gradation of Museums and establishment of new Museums” against Rs. 100.00 Crores, when it was united Andhra Pradesh. The details of works are as follows

  • Total Temples Conservation works taken up : 133 Nos

  • Total Forts Conservation works taken up : 3 Nos

  • Total New Museums Construction & Up gradation of

    Museum works taken up : 16 Nos

  • Total Buddhist Sites Conservation works taken up : 6 Nos

  • Establishment of New Shilparamam : 6 Nos

  • Other Monuments like Heritage Parks, Rock Art Caves,

    British Libraries, Dutch Cemetery, Residence of Sir Aurthor

    Cotton & Sri Kandukuri Veereshalingam Panthulu, Puligadda

    Pumping Station & Misc. works etc. : 25 Nos

    Total : 189 Nos

The latest status of the works at glance

  • No of works Completed : 142 Nos

  • No of works In progress : 47 Nos

    Total works : 189 Nos

The high lights of the monuments conservated under 13th Finance Commission Grants through photographs at glance

    Dr. G. Vani Mohan, I.A.S., Commissioner, Department of Archaeology & Museums

Contact US: Site Map: Search,[Telugu] FAQ, Feedback, New orders, Disclaimer.
Copyright 2015-2016: Department of Archaeology & Museums, Government of Andhra Pradesh.